You may call me crazy…

by

Whoops!  We’ve moved.  The post you’re looking for is here, on our new, improved blog!  Please change your bookmarks and subscriptions so we can bug you later!

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “You may call me crazy…”

  1. Lynette Says:

    Peggi

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! The piece is stunning! My MIL is not going to know what to do (my fear is that she will many, many more like this for every project she creates….that would mean you would have many, many quilt tops finished). I am thrilled that at 82 years old she keeps busy with her quarter inch miniature work. This will just be a crowning touch for her castle.

    I cannot wait to see the finished product in person. Thank you Peggi

    Happy Holidays to you and yours.

    Lynette

  2. Karin Says:

    do you use a smaller than normal needle to do this tiny work? And stabilize the fabrics prior to sewing perhaps?

  3. Peggi Says:

    Hi Karin,

    Thanks for your questions!

    I don’t change to a smaller needle (honestly hadn’t even thought of that), but I do switch to a finer thread. I use Bottom Line in the bobbin, and for this quilt I used Sulky invisible thread in the needle. As far as stabilizing, I starch the snot out of the fabrics before cutting, and paper piecing also helps. I don’t use a stabilizer because it would add too much bulk.

    Peggi

  4. Elsie Says:

    Another incredible proof that good things come in small packages! Great job of this one!! Lucky MIL!

  5. Peggi Says:

    Oh my gosh, I almost forgot THE most important part of making a quilt like this – shorten your stitch length! I shortened mine to 1.2. This helps with both the paper piecing and the size of the blocks. It is difficult to rip the seams if you make a mistake, but since the blocks are so small, I just make another block!

Comments are closed.


